Becky Chin | Pricing and Reimbursement Senior Manager

Becky Chin

Pricing and Reimbursement Senior Manager

Sector: Health Science

Born: ON

Location: ON

Education: University

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

Biology, Business & Economics, Chemistry

Business, Careers, Finance, Insurance, Pharmacist

Becky Chin | Pricing and Reimbursement Senior Manager
Becky ChinPricing and Reimbursement Senior Manager
I am motivated by

I’m motivated because the work I do helps people. In addition, I’m happy to bring my artistic side into the preparation of materials to promote products.

I am motivated by
My career path is

I didn’t set out to work in our pricing and reimbursement department. I came about this career in an incidental way. I was always interested in how medications helped make people with serious illnesses get better. After high school, I studied Pharmacy. This training led to work doing drug reviews.  Doing drug reviews helped me develop an expertise that made it possible for me to obtain employment in the pharmaceutical industry. I took the opportunity to learn everything I could at the different jobs that I’ve had and these have led me to the career I have today.

My career path is
My advice to others

Do some formal education in any of interest in science and math related to the role (e.g., pharmacy, biology, finance, mathematics, pharmaceutical science, or business (marketing).

My advice to others
How I affect people's livesIn my job I help people access and pay for medicines that will improve their lives and help them live longer. 
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

Running, tennis, pet (dog) training

Outside of work I
What I do at work

My team and I determine the amounts that can be reimbursed through insurance for our products. I work with different departments at my company, including marketing and medical, to prepare educational materials to support access to our products and obtain insurance reimbursement.

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: Toronto

I now live in: Toronto

I completed my training/education at: Pharmacy, University of Toronto

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Music
  • Art
  • Math
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Organized activities for my friends
  • Engaged in volunteer activities
  • Liked reading
  • Wasn't sure what I wanted to do
  • Engaged in activities such as fishing

Explore Career Profiles