Sylvie Cloutier | Chercheuse scientifique – généticienne moléculaire

Sylvie Cloutier

Research Scientist

Molecular geneticist, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

Sector: Agriculture, Science

Born: QC

Location: ON

Education: University

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

Biology, Genetics, Agriculture and practices, Science

Agricultural Biotech, Agriculture, Careers, Crops, Research Methods, Scientific Practices

Sylvie Cloutier | Chercheuse scientifique – généticienne moléculaire
Sylvie Cloutier Research Scientist
I am motivated by

Every day, I have the possibility to do something I love and that is intellectually challenging and stimulating. I can lead and excel doing what I love to do. I have a lot of scope for decision making. I can decide what area of research I want to tackle and how to do it. It is a very intellectually stimulating career.

I am motivated by
My career path is

I have a BSc in agriculture (bio-agronomie), an MSc in biotechnology and a PhD in genetics. After graduation with my PhD, I worked as a post-doctoral student for one year prior to joining the Cereal Research Centre of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada as a research scientist.

My career path is
My advice to others

If a career in science entices you, get involved in science fairs, contact professors in your area(s) of interest, whether they are in high school, college, university or research centre. They can provide the mentorship, the guidance and the contacts you will need to explore the possibilities.

My advice to others
How I affect people's livesCurrently I work on flax. Do you know that it is the best plant based source of omega-3 fatty acid which are essential for your brain function and reduce risk of cardio-vascular diseases – pretty important particularly for vegetarian and vegans who do not consume fish?
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

I like the great outdoors and to be physically active. That includes running (half-marathons), hiking, camping, canoeing, cycling. I also like to travel. If I can combine both, that is even better.

Outside of work I
What I do at work

Science, math and technology are my job. On a day to day basis, I manage research activities. I spend most of my time at a computer. This is where I write grant proposals, manuscripts for publication in scientific journals, reports, analyze data and mostly deals with email requests. Managing research means that I collaborate with other scientists from across the country and internationally. Sometimes, I lead these projects and, on other projects, I am a participant or co-lead.

Managing research also means that I supervise graduate students, research assistants, post-docs, visiting scholars, coop students, etc. Day-to-day management includes overseeing their progress, helping them with troubleshooting experiment and assigning tasks. Every now and then, I get to perform some hand-on activities such as showing someone how to perform certain techniques. I particularly enjoy the summer because, while I am a molecular geneticist, I work on agricultural crops and, in the summer, I get to do field work. While this is physically demanding, it is also a nice change of pace. It is important to get comfortable with the material you work with and it is highly rewarding to see ones’ plants grow in the field.

As a molecular geneticist, my area of expertise is genomics and epigenetics studies. I look at the genetic control of traits such as disease resistance in wheat, particularly resistance to the fungal pathogens causing leaf rust and fusarium head blight. In flax, I am interested in the production of omega-3 and resistance to drought for examples. In terms of technology, I use Next Generation Sequencing data producing Terabytes of DNA sequencing information. This requires state-of-the-art computing algorithms, software and pipelines for analysis. I wish I was more knowledgeable in computing science, i.e., I wish I was able to use a few programming languages or at ease with various operating system such as Linux. This would make my life easier. To compensate my shortfall, I collaborate with brilliant bioinformaticians. Interactions can be via email, video or teleconferencing or face-to-face meetings. We make it work. Data sharing is done through shared drives.

In 2016, I am the program organizer for a conference on wheat genetics. This involves numerous meetings and countless of email and phone communications. This sort of task is not part of my regular duties. But, as scientists, we are constantly asked to participate in committees, teams, and activities that are on the periphery of our main duties. Scientists rarely work 9 to 5. We tend to be self-motivated and driven.

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: up Quebec city, Quebec, Canada

I now live in: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

I completed my training/education at: Bachelor of Applied Science – Bio-agronomy at Laval University, Quebec; M.Sc Biotechnology at University of Guelph; Ph.D. Molecular genetics at University of Montreal

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Art
  • History
  • Math
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Liked helping people
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Was motivated by success
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Liked reading
  • Felt at home in the outside, natural environment
  • Was really creative
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Engaged in activities such as fishing, berry picking and hunting

Explore Career Profiles