The David Colcleugh Leadership Award for Let's Talk Science Outreach Coordinators

2019 Award Winner:
Sarah Purcell, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton

Sarah Purcell

Sarah developed a volunteer coordinator team, providing 12 volunteers with the opportunity to engage in a leadership position and gain essential skills while doubling the outreach site volunteers and educator involvement to increase the diversity of outreach offered.

2019 Runners-Up:

Runner-up: Portia Kalun, McMaster University

Portia’s personal mission is to make science more accessible for others by encouraging STEM outreach and gaining interest from professionals in STEM.

Runner-up: Renee Baysarowich, University of Ottawa

Renee has a passion for science outreach and specifically working with Indigenous youth. She motivates other university students to help foster learning opportunities that reach out to youth.

Past Winners:
  • 2018 – Michelle Lynn Trudel, University of Winnipeg
  • 2017 – Mannix Chan, University of Victoria
  • 2016 – Emily Ng, University of Calgary
  • 2015 – Rachel Ward-Maxwell, McMaster University
  • 2014 – Gabriel Potvin, University of Ottawa
  • 2013 – Frances Lasowski, McMaster University
  • 2012 – Megan Dodd, McMaster University
  • 2011 – Julie Mason, University of Toronto, St. George campus