Charles Paradis | Coordinator (Partner Engagement)

Charles Paradis

Coordinator (Partner Engagement)

Let's Talk Science

Sector: Education and Training

Born: QC

Location: ON

Education: University

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

English & Language Arts, History & World Studies, Science

Careers, Museums, Science Communication

Charles Paradis | Coordinator (Partner Engagement)
Charles Paradis Coordinator (Partner Engagement)
I am motivated by

I'm all about creating things that will help the public better understand their world around them. I love teaching people things and making complex topics fun and relatable for them. I love seeing people make connections and experience "aha" moments. It’s so great when you can practically see that light bulb go off above their heads.

I am motivated by
My career path is

When I was in high school I never realized that people would pay you to do the jobs I’ve had! And, if I thought my work life was going to be an easy and straight path, I was way off! I absolutely love what I do, but before this, I spent about 10 years in museums and science centres. Even though I loved museums, I don't think I ever imagined that one day I'd be doing collections work at a golf museum. I certainly never thought I would be excavating Roman ruins in North Africa. And I certainly never thought I’d be talking chemistry at an oil sands museum, or going over the history of Canada and WWII aboard a warship. Those might seem like a big leap from what I do now, but in reality their quite similar. It's all about researching, creating, and developing things to help people of all ages better understand complex topics.

My career path is
My advice to others

Remember that there are no wrong moves in your career. It might be bumpy at times, but as long as you keep moving, you'll be fine.

My advice to others
How I affect people's livesFor me, I feel that the greatest part of my job is getting youth to think about the future. This means helping them understand that regardless of what they do, at least one of the letters in STEM will be relevant to their lives!
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

I mostly play board games or video games. Sometimes I collect sneakers ? And I follow a lot of soccer matches.

Outside of work I
What I do at work

he main duties of my job are two-fold. First, I help make sure that the groups and people that support us have a chance to volunteer with us. This might mean that they get involved in activities that help them better understand what we are all about. This helps the folks who want to support us understand the impact of their efforts on youth from coast to coast to coast. I also help organize activities for youth to explore different career options, in particular those that are alternative career pathways. I try and help teens understand that there are STEM jobs all over the place and showcase ones that might not jump to mind right away. It's great fun interacting with youth across Canada, making connections with them, and talking about their futures!

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: Pointe-Claire, QC but moved to Burlington, ON

I now live in: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

I completed my training/education at: Mount Allison University in Sackville, NB. Earned a BA (Honours History).

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Geography
  • History
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Brought people together
  • Liked helping people
  • Played video games
  • Always knew what I wanted to do
  • Learned best by doing
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Was really creative
  • Liked to design or build things

Explore Career Profiles