Skip to main content

The David Colcleugh Leadership Award for Let's Talk Science Outreach Coordinators

The David Colcleugh Leadership Award for Let's Talk Science Outreach Coordinators

2022 Award Winner:
Jessica Allingham, Let’s Talk Science at Lakehead University

Jessica Allingham

Over the past two years as a coordinator at Lakehead University, Jessica has made tremendous progress in growing the Lakehead Let’s Talk Science site. She has tripled their engagement with youth, engaged 15 different Indigenous communities from Northern Ontario and established 26 new educator contacts. In addition to this, Jessica launched a monthly newsletter, social media channels and a podcast, further expanding the reach of Let’s Talk Science at Lakehead University.

​​​​​Learn more about the winner by watching their celebration video!

2022 Runners-Up:

Amaal Abdi, University of Ottawa

During her four years as a site coordinator at the University of Ottawa, Amaal has advocated for the youth of Black and Indigenous communities by helping to transform the landscape of STEM to be more inclusive, such as through the Black Youth in STEM (BYiS) mentorship program she established. She leads volunteers by giving them a sense of ownership and connection to each task they complete.


Negin Ficzkowski, McMaster University

As a site coordinator at McMaster University, Negin has worked towards involving the engineering community in a meaningful way through various collaborations and initiatives at her site, including with Engineers of Tomorrow. Her adaptive leadership style allows her to effectively work with volunteers, educators, community partners and other coordinators at her site..

Past Winners:
  • 2021 – Sarah Woodward, University of British Columbia
  • 2020 – Jacqueline Barnett, University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus
  • 2019 – Sarah Purcell, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton
  • 2018 – Michelle Lynn Trudel, University of Winnipeg
  • 2017 – Mannix Chan, University of Victoria
  • 2016 – Emily Ng, University of Calgary
  • 2015 – Rachel Ward-Maxwell, McMaster University
  • 2014 – Gabriel Potvin, University of Ottawa
  • 2013 – Frances Lasowski, McMaster University
  • 2012 – Megan Dodd, McMaster University
  • 2011 – Julie Mason, University of Toronto, St. George campus