National Volunteer Award, Let’s Talk Science Outreach

National Volunteer Award, Let’s Talk Science Outreach

2020 Award Winner:
Madeson Todd, University of British Columbia

Madeson Todd

Madeson has demonstrated a clear vision of supporting Indigenous youth and how to incorporate Indigenous culture into STEM activities at the University of British Columbia. One way she did that was through piloting a mentorship program for Indigenous youth this year.

Learn more about the winner by watching their celebration video!

2020 Runners-Up:

Runner-up: Amanda Yokingco, University of Toronto, Scarborough campus

Amanda has led rural outreach visits in the Yukon as part of her myriad of volunteering experiences with the University of Toronto - Scarborough campus. She demonstrated how STEM could intersect the arts by building a coding workshop using household items.

Runner-up: Hana Dibe, University of Guelph

Hana has constantly used effective and innovative teaching strategies while leading activities at the University of Guelph. She brought creative new ideas to increase online engagement and enhance her site’s social media presence at events like the School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Runner-up: Kelly Xu, University of Ottawa

Kelly has shown great flexibility and uses effective questioning techniques when leading activities at the University of Ottawa. This year she initiated a partnership with the Ottawa Robotics Competition to help create opportunities for students in underrepresented groups to engage with STEM.

Runner-up: Shiva Zargar, University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus

Shiva has inspired students with her curiosity and love of learning through her many volunteering activities at the University of British Columbia, Okanagan campus. She has shown a continued commitment to helping young women find and maintain their place in STEM.

Past Winners:
  • 2019 – Kristine Macalinao, University of Manitoba
  • 2018 – Jade Atkins, Carleton University
  • 2017 - Jennifer Neufeld, University of Ottawa
  • 2016 – Portia Kalun, McMaster University
  • 2015 – Curtis McCloskey, University of Ottawa
  • 2014 – Sue McKee, University of Ottawa
  • 2013 – Li Wang, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2012 – Gabriel Potvin, University of Ottawa
  • 2011 – Sara Rafferty, University of Ottawa