Dawson Sewell | Étudiant de premier cycle en biologie et rédacteur pigiste

Dawson Sewell

Undergraduate biology student/freelance writer

Sector: Science

Born: ON

Location: ON

Education: University

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

Biology, English & Language Arts

Careers, Experiments, Science Communication, Scientific Practices

Dawson Sewell | Étudiant de premier cycle en biologie et rédacteur pigiste
Dawson Sewell Undergraduate biology student/freelance writer
I am motivated by

Curiosity is the most motivating factor in my career. There is so much we do not know about the world and science is the perfect way to satisfy my curiosity. I love learning new ideas every day and asking new questions. I find it rewarding to share my scientific knowledge with others in a way that is easy to understand.

I am motivated by
My career path is

I chose to study biology which is a pretty vast scientific field. I have not decided on which route to take after my undergrad yet. Eventually I hope to do research supported by private industries.

My career path is
My advice to others

My advice would be not to worry too much about your future career. Focus on showing up every day and doing the best you can. Things will work out in the end.

My advice to others
How I affect people's livesI am currently in my undergrad so my job is not yet affecting people. Hopefully in the future, my scientific background will make a difference in people’s lives.
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

I love to be outside and to be active. In the summers I frequently go on hikes, canoe trips, bike trips and road trips. During the winter months I do CrossFit to stay in shape. I like to travel when I can. I enjoy meeting new people from other cultures and eating different food from around the world.

Outside of work I
What I do at work

I am currently studying biology at the University of Western Ontario. My fascination with science, particularly biology, has grown year after year throughout my undergrad. I have gotten to study ecology, plants, medicine, genetics, political science, environmental science, physics and chemistry. My undergrad has also allowed me to develop laboratory skills alongside scientific theory. Studying science definitely has improved my critical thinking and problem solving abilities while instilling a deep appreciation for life on earth.

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: Barrrie, Ontario, Canada

I now live in: London, Ontario, Canada

I completed my training/education at: BSc, Biology, University Western Ontario

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Art
  • Geography
  • History
  • Literature and English language arts
  • Math
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
  • Technology
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Always wanted to be outside
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Liked reading
  • Was really creative
  • Never wanted to be in the classroom
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Wasn’t sure what I wanted to do
  • Liked to take things apart to see how they worked

Explore Career Profiles