Jefferson Frisbee | Chair and Professor, Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Western Ontario

Jefferson Frisbee

Chair and Professor

Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Western Ontario

Sector: Health Science

Location: ON

Education: University

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

Biology, Anatomy, Chemistry, Health

Careers, Heart Disease, Medicine

Jefferson Frisbee | Chair and Professor, Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Western Ontario
Jefferson Frisbee Chair and Professor
I am motivated by

I love the freedom and flexibility to use my creativity and imagination to learn and understand how systems work (and fail). I hate structure and do not particularly enjoy sitting in classrooms. My career has allowed me to operate almost entirely within my own flexibility.

I am motivated by
My career path is

Mostly, I made sure to never close doors and never made a decision I could not reverse. In my education I completed an undergraduate degree in science and two graduate degrees. This was followed by two postdoctoral fellowships, and then 20 years of "training and education". Unusual Twists and Turns: of course. All do. I NEVER thought I would be back in Canada but some opportunities just develop out of nowhere. How I ended up in this career is a bit interesting. This was my 2nd backup plan. Once pro football was out, I wanted to be a cosmologist. But couldn't handle the math. Since I have always loved biology I started down that path instead. I’ve had a number of challenges and failures along the way – we all do. But you pick yourself up and start fighting again. What other choice do you have - to accept failure???

My career path is
My advice to others

Stick with it. It is a very long and hard road to get here, but it is totally worth it if you can make it through. It really is a great career if you are the right person.

My advice to others
How I affect people's livesWe work to identify how we can correct the symptoms and poor health outcomes associated with cardiovascular disease risk. This impacts a large number of people and we are working to try to reduce that.
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

I used to run the hockey program at a major American University before coming here. That was fun. I hike, golf, and travel to my kid's unending sports activities.... I like to travel with my family (National Parks). I volunteer when asked, but am looking for more opportunities. It can be hard to jam that into a day.

Outside of work I
What I do at work

We do a lot of different research using models of human disease (I need to be a bit vague for obvious reasons). My job requires I know about biology, chemistry, physics, physiology, chaos theory, biostatistics, pharmacology, etc. We use specialized surgical equipment, microscopes, equipment to measure cardiovascular function, imaging equipment (it is a very long list). I enjoy very difficult, abstract problems. Things where a lot of variables are changing in both space and time. I have to make decisions constantly. The process is simple...take what you know, what you "think" and then take your best shot. If you are wrong, try again. I work as part of a team and as an individual investigator as well. Different approaches for different problems, but clear and free communication is always vital.

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: Chanute Air Force Base, Rantoul, Illinois. Grew Up: New York, New England, and Ontario

I now live in: London, Ontario

I completed my training/education at: BSc, PhD University of Guelph; postdoctoral fellowship University of Washington; postdoctoral fellowship and first faculty position Medical College of Wisconsin; Cardiovascular Research Center Director at West Virginia University HSC; then recruited to Western

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Math
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Always wanted to be outside
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Liked reading
  • Was really creative
  • Never wanted to be in the classroom
  • Didn’t really care about grades
  • Wasn’t sure what I wanted to do

Explore Career Profiles