Skip to main content

Sheila Sadler

Sheet Metal Journeyperson
Viaduct Sheet Metal
Photo de Sheila Sadler au travail
Photo de Sheila Sadler au travail
Location Born
Location Now
Education Pathway

Sheila Sadler is a Sheet Metal Journeyperson for Viaduct Sheet Metal.

About me

I was born/grew up in: Vancouver, BC

I now live in:  Vancouver, BC

I completed my training/education at:  Local 280 Sheet metal worker training center

What I do at work

I am a sheet metal Journeyperson. Sheet metal is metal that comes in thin, flat sheets. The sheets come in different sizes and sometimes in rolls. Sheet metal comes in different thicknesses depending on what it will be used for. The sheet metal that I work with is not very thick as it is used to make pipes that are part of building air conditioning and circulation systems. Some sheet metal is thick enough that it is used to construct buildings such as metal, industrial buildings.

There are two different sides to the sheet metal trade; field and shop. In the shop, we make the metal fittings and parts that will be used in the field (i.e., on the job site). We make these items by cutting them on a machine and then we run the cut pieces thru other machines. These machines add bends to create the metal product needed.  In the field, other sheet metal workers take what we have built in the shops and install it in the building.

There is sheet metal in all buildings. It is in the air conditioning or air circulation systems. The ducts and pipes that move moves air around a house or workplace are all made from sheet metal. Sheet metal workers sometimes do welding as well. We also have to be able to do ladder work, some lifting, and use hand tools. In this trade there is a lot of teamwork involved. As a Journeyperson, I work with apprentices who are learning to become sheet metal workers.

My career path is

I married and had kids right out of high school. I thought I would be a stay at home mom and wife forever. Well that changed and I moved out with my two little girls and started working at low paying jobs. I realized I wouldn't be able to give them a stable life this way. I had been married to a plumber and had helped him at times. So, I thought why couldn't I do that.

I went to a trades sampling program and choose heavy fab (which is building metal items by cutting, bending and joining part together). After I finished my classes, I could not find work in this area. So I went back to being a waitress. One day, while I was at work, a guy came in and I had a few minutes to chat so I asked what he did. We started taking about metal and he asked why I knew so much. I explained what happened and he smiled collected his lunch and went on with his day. About an hour later he came back and gave me information about a job opening. He had also made an appointment with the apprentice coordinator for me. I saw her the next day and I went to my first sheet metal job. I worked there for a while before joining the company I work with now. I’ve worked here for 17 years now. That stranger gave me the gift of an opportunity to prove myself. I am thankful everyday.

I am motivated by

I love to see the end results – something you look at and see what you made. It is a crazy sense of pride when you make something. I still go by buildings and say, “I worked on that!” I have made things that were used in movies. Working in this industry has allowed me to raise my kids by myself and they had a good life. I also like welding as I find it peaceful and relaxing.

How I affect people’s lives

The work I do helps create the system that brings warm and cool air into the places were people live and work. This makes their living and work places more comfortable and healthier.

Outside of work I

I like to be outside in nature and like fishing and camping (tent camping lol). I also enjoy crochet and cooking. I also enjoy talking to people about the job I do.

My advice to others

This is a good solid job. You will make good money and you can accomplish a lot with this trade.

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Foods and Nutrition
  • Home Economics
  • Technology
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Never wanted to be in the classroom
  • Always threw the best parties
  • Didn't really care about grades
  • Wasn't sure what I wanted to do
  • Went to Alternative Schools

Explore Career Profiles

  • Bianka Labelle-Robert

    Bianka Labelle-Robert

    Junior Outfit Engineer

    I am responsible for the interior completion of ship compartments.
  • Mike Stanzel headshot

    Mike Stanzel

    Technical Sales Manager

    I’m a sales professional who specializes in selling technical or scientific products.
  • Michelle Henry

    Michelle Henry

    Non-Destructive Testing Technician

    I inspect metal parts on nuclear reactors to make sure they are in good working order.
  • Homme travaillant avec des équipements pour façonner des outils et matrices.

    Jeff

    Tool & Die Maker

    I create, repair, test and run production tooling, such as dies, jigs, fixtures and gauges by reading and interpreting complex engineering drawings.
  • Bryan Rolph

    Bryan Rolph

    Sales Manager

    I lead a team of technical sales professionals that help deliver on the best technology solutions for our customers.
  • Daniela Torelli dans un atelier de soudure.

    Daniela Torelli

    Welding Instructor

    I teach the next generation of welders.
  • Sarah Raddatz

    Sarah Raddatz

    Structural Designer

    I use software to create building models in 3D and 2D formats to make plans before the construction of the project.
  • Kat Tyrell

    Kat Tyrell

    Manager, Automotive and Mobility Strategy

  • Autoportrait de Jill Stagg pris sur le chantier

    Jill Stagg

    Steamfitter Apprentice

    As an apprentice steamfitter, Jill Stagg is expanding her skills at installing pipes that carry high pressure or dangerous stubstances.
  • Mariam Jordi sur le site de construction d'un bâtiment pour la formation des pompiers et pompières.

    Miriam Jordi (she/her)

    Project Coordinator

    Miriam works with a construction company and helps make sure projects are completed on time and on budget.
  • Wiebke

    Wiebke Jansen

    Welder Apprentice

    I am a welder apprentice at Seaspan Shipyards.
  • Chelsea Dyck

    Chelsea Dyck

    Journeyman Electrician

  • Alan Locke au travail

    Alan Locke

    Research Technologist

  • Jacob Waldbillig photo de remise des diplômes

    Jacob Waldbillig

    Architectural Technologist

    Jacob Waldbillig is an Architectural Technologist for IBI Group.
  • Brandon Graf au travail

    Brandon Graf

    Industrial Mechanic (Millwright)

    Brandon Graf is an Industrial Mechanic (Millwright) for Keyera.
  • Ben Davis

    Benjamin Davis

    Territory Manager

    Benjamin Davis is the Territory Manager for Walter Surfaces Technologies.
  • Nicole Hamilton avec médaille d'or

    Nicole Hamilton

    Automotive Painter

    Nicole Hamilton is an Automotive Painter, located in Nova Scotia.
  • Joel Stacey au travail sur un toit

    Joel Stacey

    Construction Superintendent

    Joel Stacey is a Construction Superintendent for Solvest Inc.
  • Kassandra in the body shop

    Kassandra Bilodeau

    Artistic Automobile Painter

    Kassandra Bilodeau is a Self Employed Artistic Automobile Painter.
  • Lorne Bennett

    Lorne Bennett

    Executive Vice President, Human Resources

    Lorne Bennett is the Executive Vice President of Human Resources for Pennecon.