Sonya Bedo | Menuisière

Sonya Bedo

Carpenter

Sector: Architecture and Construction, Skilled Trades

Born: ON

Location: NL

Education: Apprenticeship

Type: Career Profile

Subjects:

Industrial Arts, Math, Technology & Engineering

Apprenticeship, Carpentry, Construction, Skilled Trades

Sonya Bedo | Menuisière
Sonya BedoCarpenter
I am motivated by

What I enjoy about my career is that I’m working in a field that was once thought as only for men.  I like the fact that I’m helping show that both men and women can be carpenters. And, at the end of the day, being able to look at your finished product, of what you have built, and say you built that is a great feeling of accomplishment. 

I am motivated by
My career path is

I wanted to be a carpenter since I started high school. I love working with my hands. I’m also very mathematically inclined and love the outdoors. These are all key components of working as a carpenter. I also had two uncles that are carpenters and my dad was always a handyman around the house. I was always there with him; wanting to learn what he was doing. I took a skilled trade’s class in high school and that made me want to pursue this career even more. I attended the Carpenter Millwright College where I learned the basics of carpentry. I then went to work as an apprentice. I worked on jobs with experienced carpenters where I applied what I had learned in school to the job site. I got to practice and develop my skills and was paid for doing it! I’m currently a second year Carpenter working towards my Journeyperson, Red Seal certificate.

My career path is
My advice to others

I would say go for it! Even if it turns out you don’t like this type of work it's still an amazing skill to have for life. 

My advice to others
I am indigenous

Yes, Qalipu Miꞌkmaq First Nation

I am indigenous
How I affect people's livesWhat I do does affect people. People need things in their homes fixed or replaced all the time. Things like a door, a window or their flooring. It could also be how they want their house built. Most people don’t have the skills to do this work properly so they rely on and trust people like me to do it right.
How I affect people's lives
Outside of work I

I enjoy going to the gym, playing volleyball and being physically active. I love going hunting, listening to live music, being on an all-terrain vehicle (ATV). I volunteer to help spread the word about the great jobs available in the skilled trades, especially for women.

Outside of work I
What I do at work

A typical workday as a carpenter involves using a lot of math and technology. I use math to figure out how much material I’ll need for the project. I also use math for such things as calculating the angle for the roof trusses to building the stairs. There's also a lot of technology involved too. This could be the different powered and unpowered tools such as those used to make angles, cut materials, and attach two objects together.

What I do at work
About me

I was born/grew up in: Brampton, Ontario

I now live in: Stephenville NL

I completed my training/education at: Carpenter Millwright College

About me

When I was

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Business & Economics
  • Computer Science
  • Art
  • Math
  • Physical Education / Health
  • Other: Skill Trades class
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Always wanted to be outside
  • Liked helping people
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Was motivated by success
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Engaged in volunteer activities
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Always knew what I wanted to do
  • Liked to take things apart to see how they worked
  • Engaged in activities such as fishing
  • Learned Best by Doing

Explore Career Profiles