David Butler

Attorney and Counsellor-at-Law
Daniel & Partners LLP
Location Now
Education Pathway

I work with lawyers and clients and complete legal research. I also provide opinions and draft letters and memoranda.


Outside of work I

I enjoy walking along Lake Ontario and playing ice hockey.

Outside of work I
My career path is

I am where I am in my professional career because of the support of my family and in particular my mother. When I completed a Master of Laws I did an externship in New York City for a semester.

My career path is
My advice to others

There are many different career paths. It may take trying out a few before realizing that a different path is the right fit.

My advice to others


About me

I was born/grew up in: Born in Uppsala, Sweden and grew up in Montreal, Quebec

I now live in: Niagara on the Lake, Ontario

I completed my training/education at:  I have a B.A. (Economics) from McGill University. I have a Master of Business, Entrepreneurship & Technology from the University of Waterloo. I have a Bachelor of Laws from Kent Law School and a Master of Laws from the Cardozo School of Law

About me


I am motivated by

Every day is different. I can come in with a plan on what I'll be working on that day and then another file will take priority. It makes things exciting.

I am motivated by
How I affect people's livesI get to think through problems every day for people experiencing real life issues. It gives me the opportunity to use the law to make someone's life better. I do this by finding a solution to their legal challenges.
How I affect people's lives
What I do at work

I am in the final stages of my education to become a lawyer. As an articling student, I work under the supervision of a senior lawyer. This is similar to an internship. In this role, I conduct extensive legal research. I provide legal advice and analysis on a variety of matters. I assist lawyers in drafting letters and memoranda. I engage in determining if some clients have a viable claim. The specific technology skills that I use deal with intellectual property rights.

What I do at work
When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Foods & Nutrition.
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Computer Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Brought People Together
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Liked helping people
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Was motivated by success
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Played video games
  • Was really creative
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Wasn't sure what I wanted to do
  • Liked to design or build things
  • Learned Best by Doing

Explore Career Profiles