Skip to main content

Mike Stanzel

Technical Sales Manager
GCP Applied Technologies
Mike Stanzel headshot
Mike Stanzel headshot
Location Born
Location Now
Education Pathway

I’m a sales professional who specializes in selling technical or scientific products.

About me

I was born/grew up in: Sudbury, ON

I now live in: Kitchener, ON

I completed my training/education at: Queen's University, Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering

What I do at work

Our company provides chemical additives to the construction industry. I work as part of the North American team, managing the Canadian region. I work with cement plants to supply them with grinding additives. These additives can improve the efficiency of the cement milling process. They can also improve the performance of the cement in the field.

My work with our customers involves many different steps. First, I need to understand the plant's technical objectives, limitations, and market conditions. Then, I need to screen product solutions to identify, trial, and evaluate options. Finally, I present the results and we come to an agreement about supply. My job also includes maintenance of customer accounts.

My team also offers technical expertise on the best ways to improve cement milling operations. We work closely with the formulation team to develop and test new products. We work with the customer service and logistics teams to make sure customers are satisfied. We also work with the operations and supply chain teams to forecast material needs.

There's no such thing as a typical day. I could be doing a trial with a customer, or reviewing the condition and operation of their milling systems. I could be building spreadsheet simulations, or putting a presentation together.

Having a background in chemical engineering helps me apply a process focus to my work. I understand what the available inputs are, what the desired outputs are, and how they relate, and how they can be adjusted to find the best solutions.

My career path is

I always knew that I wanted to get into primary/bulk material manufacturing. So, I took chemical engineering in university. When I graduated, I started working in a cement plant as a quality coordinator/supervisor. Later I became the plant/process engineer. Then, I worked a number of years for a cement manufacturer in a technical services role. This job was a link between manufacturing and sales. I supported cement users with our products. My current position is a natural fit for my experience. It offers the best of both worlds - a strong process and quality focus, and working with people.

I am motivated by

I enjoy the technical challenges of my work. It also requires strong communication and interpersonal skills. I’m happy to have an opportunity to help people and make a meaningful difference to society.

How I affect peoples’ lives

Concrete is the most used manufactured material in the world. This is because it has a long service life, it can be placed in a variety of environments, and it has excellent structural characteristics.

The cement powder in concrete is its most CO2 intensive component. The work I do helps my clients meet their quality goals and market demand. It also helps them improve their electrical energy efficiency and produce lower CO2 products.

Outside of work I

Cooking, Adventure Running Coach, Music, Movies, Reading, and best of all - spending time with my family.

My advice to others

Your character is defined by the choices you make, more than anything else.

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Art
  • Geography
  • History
  • Math
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
  • Computer Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Liked helping people
  • Was motivated by success
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Liked reading
  • Played video games
  • Was really creative
  • I was good at everything, but I didn't excel in one particular area. I was able to fit into any situation.

Related Topics

Explore Career Profiles

  • Rhiannon Cooper headshot taken outside with trees and plans in the background

    Rhiannon Cooper

    Epidemiologist

    I monitor the patterns and trends of infectious diseases across the province.
  • Khashayar Farzam headshot

    Khashayar Farzam (he/him)

    Emergency Medicine Doctor

    As an ER doctor, I take care of any patient who comes through the hospital door for literally anything!
  • Peter Vlasveld headshot

    Peter Vlasveld

    Intermediate Software Developer

    I write backend code for web apps that help in Cyclica's drug discovery efforts.
  • Andrea Brack recycling at work

    Andrea Brack

    Environmental and Regulatory Team Coordinator

    I lead a team of environmental professionals at a large petrochemical manufacturing facility.
  • Pamela Power photo taken outside in winter with trees in background

    Pamela Power (she/her)

    Water Resources Specialist

    I provide technical review of projects that may affect water resources to ensure your community’s rights and interests are being considered and protected.
  • Sara Knox headshot

    Sara Knox (she/her)

    Assistant Professor (biometeorology)

    I study ways to restore and protect ecosystems to help fight climate change.
  • Benjamin Pauquet designing a part for the lunar lander on his computer

    Benjamin Pauquet (video)

    Mechanical and Materials Engineer

    I design parts for off-road and off-planet vehicles.
  • Stephanie Arnold flying drone in potato field.

    Stephanie Arnold (she/they)

    Climate Services Specialist (PEI)

    I help others understand how climate change affects themselves, their communities and their work.
  • Corey Nislow headshot

    Corey Nislow (he/him)

    Professor and Genomics Research Chair

    I study how drugs work and how an individual’s genetic makeup can affect their response to drug treatment.
  • Benjamin Pauquet with lunar rover in testing room.

    Benjamin Pauquet (he/him)

    Mechanical and Materials Engineer

    I design parts for off-road and off-planet vehicles.
  • ulie Hlavacek-Larrond headshot

    Julie Hlavacek-Larrondo (she/her)

    Astrophysicist and Associate professor

    I study black holes, which I think are the most fascinating objects in the Universe!
  • Yetong Dong headshot wearing lab coat

    Yetong Dong

    Research Assistant/Graduate Student

    I am studying to become a scientific researcher.
  • Portrait de Andrea Goldson-Barnaby

    Andrea Goldson-Barnaby

    Head of the Food division

    I teach and do research on the topics of Food Chemistry and Food Processing.
  • Adrienne Ethier

    Adrienne Ethier

    Environmental Risk Assessment Specialist

    I am responsible for evaluating potential exposure risks to people and the environment near nuclear facilities and mines.
  • Karen Fleming

    Karen Fleming (she/her)

    Simulation Educator

    I help create education and training experiences that contribute to safer environments for patients.
  • Portrait de Dr. Marcia Anderson

    Marcia Anderson (she/her)

    Physician and Vice-Dean Indigenous Health, Social Justice and Anti-Racism

    I am a medical doctor and I work to help create culturally safe healthcare that is free of racism.
  • Luke Humphries working with biological sample in his lab.

    Luke Humphries

    Director, Process Development

    I lead teams of scientists to discover and develop the best ways of making drug molecules for clinical trials.
  • Brittany Tyler headshot

    Brittany Tyler (she/her)

    Nuclear Non-Proliferation Officer

    I negotiate and implement Canada's nuclear non-proliferation import and export policy.
  • Allison Guitor in her lab at McMaster University.

    Allison Guitor

    Researcher - Antibiotic Resistance

    I study antibiotic resistance, which is what makes bacteria able to live in the presence of antibiotics.
  • Isabel Hilgendag in the fileld collecting samples in the Arctic

    Isabel Hilgendag

    MSc Student (Biology)

    I look for heavy metals, such as mercury, in Arctic marine animals, to ensure they are safe to eat.