Ryan S Wong

Law Student / Articling Student
Smart & Biggar LLP
Location Born
Location Now
Education Pathway



Outside of work I

I hang out with friends and play ultimate frisbee!

Outside of work I
My career path is

I have a Bachelor of Medical Sciences from Western University and an MSc in Anatomy and Cell Biology from Western University.  I am currently in the final stage of my program. I have completed my university courses and the provincial examinations for becoming a licensed lawyer. The final stage is to gain practical experience by working with a practicing lawyer. This is called articling. When I complete this 10-month articling experience I will be "called to the bar" and will start my career as a lawyer.

My career path has had many twists and turns and I've enjoyed every step. It's allowed me to experience, learn, and develop a diverse set of skills. More importantly, I got to figure out what I really want for my career. When I finish my law degree, I plan to specialize in intellectual property law. Check my LinkedIn profile for more details about my career path to date. 

My career path is
My advice to others

It's always a good sign if you feel afraid about taking on a particular challenge. It means you're guaranteed to grow from it.

My advice to others


About me

I was born/grew up in: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

I now live in: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

I completed my training/education at:  I have a Bachelor of Medical Sciences from Western University and an MSc in Anatomy and Cell Biology from Western University. I completed my law degree at Osgoode Hall.

About me


I am motivated by

I love working in and thinking about intellectual property. It's integrated into everything that we do. Working in intellectual property is almost like working in sciences. If you pay attention to it, you'll find it everywhere.

I am motivated by
How I affect people's livesIntellectual property is integrated into everything that we do. Everyone’s lives in one way or another touch on intellectual property law and rights. This links to our hobbies to our art choices to the things we do at work every day. 
How I affect people's lives
What I do at work

I read and write all day. I rely a lot on my STEM knowledge to understand and analyze complex issues. I am usually asked to provide an opinion on an issue. To do this, I follow a general process. First I identify the research question. Then I identify the context/situation. Next I come up with a plan for research and then do the research. After that I summarize my findings and come up with a conclusion or opinion.

What I do at work
When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • History
  • Literature and Language Arts
  • Math
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Computer Science
  • Music
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Brought People Together
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Liked helping people
  • Organized activities for my friends
  • Played on a sports team
  • Was motivated by success
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Engaged in volunteer activities
  • Played video games
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Always knew what I wanted to do
  • Learned Best by Doing

Explore Career Profiles