Skip to main content
Career Profile

Stephanie Butler Tucker

Hair Stylist
Mobile hair styling business
Stephanie Butler Tucker coiffant une cliente
Stephanie Butler Tucker coiffant une cliente
Location Born
Location Now
Education Pathway
School Subject

Stephanie Butler Tucker is a Hair Stylist at a Mobile hair styling business.

About me

I was born/grew up in: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

I now live in: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

I completed my training/education at: Woodford Training Centre for Hairstyling and Aesthetics

What I do at work

I perform regular hair cutting that includes washing and coloring services as well as styling. While you might not think this is the case but I make use of science and math skills every day. Math skills come into play when cutting hair as it is important to pay attention to the angles required for different styles: straight, 45 ° and 90 °. Also, when mixing colors you need to do so in strict ratios of the color and developer otherwise the results will not look good.

Even a slight difference in ratios can mean the difference between a satisfied customer and an angry one! Also, because these substances are chemicals you need to handle them in a safe manner and to make sure that you dispose of them properly as well. A lot of the skills I learned in science class come into play when I’m handling chemicals. And because I am operating my own business I make use of math skills when I restock my inventory of chemicals, estimate requirements based on previous usage, and maintain by account books.

My career path is

In school there were two careers that interested me: hair styling and firefighting. As I did not meet the physical requirements to be a firefighter, hair styling won out. During my training, in additional to learning the practical skills required to cut and treat hair, I had to take many courses that looked at the academic side of hair. We learned a great deal of the biology and chemistry of hair and hair treatments. We engaged in many activities or experiments to see how subtle changes in concentration or amounts of coloring and developer would affect the resulting hair color.

I completed a 9 month program followed by three weeks of On the Job Training. After completing I worked in a salon for a couple of years. While I enjoyed my time there I always wanted to own my own business so I took the leap and starting the business I currently operating. Business was slow at first and I was afraid it might not work out. However I’ve been lucky that some of my previous clients sought me out and then recommended my service to others and today I have a successful business.

I am motivated by

I always enjoyed meeting new people, interacting with them, and I enjoy providing great customer service. Being a hair stylist provided me with opportunity to do this. Whether you work in a salon or in a mobile business like mine, you get to meet lots of people and to talk with them. Over time, they become more than just “customers” and I look forward to seeing them. I really find the process of coloring and cutting hair to be very interesting. No two people are alike in their wants and needs and providing them with a service that makes them happy with their appearance is very satisfying. Operating a mobile hair styling service means I am constantly on the move so I don’t get chance to get bored! Also, because the hair styling industry keeps changing, with new techniques and materials emerging regularly, I really like the fact that I’m continuously learning new things.

How I affect peoples’ lives

While it may not seem that important, a good haircut, coloring or styling can make people feel good about their self and this has a positive effect on them and the people around them. The service I provide has a great effect on elderly people who have difficulty getting out to a regular salon. In addition to providing them with regular salon services, I engage in conversation with them and can be one of their links to the outside world. It’s a great feeling to know you helped brighten someone’s day.

Outside of work I

I volunteer at a facility for mentally challenged individuals where I provide free hair cutting and styling services. I also volunteer with my parish to put together Christmas hampers for those less fortunate members of our community. In the summer I play softball in a mixed league.

My advice to others

Regardless of what career path you take, make sure you enjoy what you do. Be willing to keep on learning as you proceed in your career as there will always be something new to know and keeping abreast of what is happening in your industry helps set you apart.

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Art
  • Business & Economics
  • Foods & Nutrition
  • Home Economics/Family Studies
  • Literature and English language arts
  • Math
  • Music
  • Physical Education/Health
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Liked helping people
  • Played on a sports team
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Was motivated by success
  • Liked being given specific instructions
  • Engaged in volunteer activities
  • Was really creative
  • Always threw the best parties
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Learned best “by doing”
  • Always knew what I wanted to do

Related Topics

Partners

Skills Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Logo
Skills Canada Newfoundland and Labrador

Let’s Talk Science is grateful to Skills Canada Newfoundland and Labrador for connecting us with this individual.

Explore Career Profiles

  • Kim TallBear headshot

    Kim TallBear

    Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Peoples, Technoscience and Society, Faculty of Native Studies

    I teach university and do research on science and technology from an Indigenous perspective.
  • Mahesh Rachamalla in his lab wearing white lab coat

    Mahesh Rachamalla (he/him)

    Graduate Student (Toxicology)

    My research will help find solutions for protecting aquatic species from the effects of heavy metals.
  • Dr. Molly Shoichet headshot

    Molly Shoichet (she/her)

    Professor and Research Team Lead

    I teach undergraduate students in engineering and I lead a research team in biomedical and chemical engineering.
  • Kaitlin Guitard working on site of an aquaculture setting.

    Kaitlin Guitard

    Water Quality Technician

    I monitor the sea water at salmon farms for harmful plankton and jellyfish.
  • Devon Hardy headshot

    Devon Hardy (she/her/elle)

    Program Director

    I run a non-profit program that supports environmental sustainability in the arts.
  • Mike Bryan on walkway over fish tank

    Mike Bryan (he/him)

    Hatchery Technician

    I work at a fish hatchery in the aquaculture industry.
  • Megan Coles headshot with blurred buildings and landscape in the background

    Megan Coles

    Pediatric Nurse

    I care for the inpatients admitted to the medical-surgical units at my local children's hospital.
  • Nicole Redvers headshot

    Nicole Redvers (she/her)

    Associate Professor and Director of Planetary Health

    I carry out Indigenous health research and support Indigenous communities and organizations in their health research needs.
  • Gabriel Hould Gosselin headshot take outside in arctic setting

    Gabriel Hould Gosselin

    Research Associate

    I support teams that collect data on the melting permafrost layer in the arctic.
  • Rhiannon Cooper headshot taken outside with trees and plans in the background

    Rhiannon Cooper

    Epidemiologist

    I monitor the patterns and trends of infectious diseases across the province.
  • Khashayar Farzam headshot

    Khashayar Farzam (he/him)

    Emergency Medicine Doctor

    As an ER doctor, I take care of any patient who comes through the hospital door for literally anything!
  • Peter Vlasveld headshot

    Peter Vlasveld

    Intermediate Software Developer

    I write backend code for web apps that help in Cyclica's drug discovery efforts.
  • Andrea Brack recycling at work

    Andrea Brack

    Environmental and Regulatory Team Coordinator

    I lead a team of environmental professionals at a large petrochemical manufacturing facility.
  • Pamela Power photo taken outside in winter with trees in background

    Pamela Power (she/her)

    Water Resources Specialist

    I provide technical review of projects that may affect water resources to ensure your community’s rights and interests are being considered and protected.
  • Sara Knox headshot

    Sara Knox (she/her)

    Assistant Professor (biometeorology)

    I study ways to restore and protect ecosystems to help fight climate change.
  • Samantha Yammine

    Samantha Yammine (she/her)

    Science Communicator

    I create and share engaging science content on social media.
  • Corey Nislow headshot

    Corey Nislow (he/him)

    Professor and Genomics Research Chair

    I study how drugs work and how an individual’s genetic makeup can affect their response to drug treatment.
  • L. Creighton Avery looking at specimen using a microscope in her lab.

    L. Creighton Avery

    Osteoarchaeologist

    I examine human skeletal remains from archaeological sites to learn about their lives.
  • Yetong Dong headshot wearing lab coat

    Yetong Dong

    Research Assistant/Graduate Student

    I am studying to become a scientific researcher.
  • Portrait de Andrea Goldson-Barnaby

    Andrea Goldson-Barnaby

    Head of the Food division

    I teach and do research on the topics of Food Chemistry and Food Processing.