Skip to main content

Linda Duncan

Corporate Senior Metallurgist
Teck Resources Limited
Linda Duncan
Linda Duncan
Location Born
Location Now
Education Pathway

Linda Duncan is a Corporate Senior Metallurgist for Teck Resources Limited.

About me

I was born/grew up in:  I was born in Kitimat, BC and lived there until I finished high school.

I now live in: I now live in Cloverdale, BC and work in the Vancouver Head Office of the company.

I completed my training/education at: I completed my Chemical and Metallurgical, Extractive Metallurgy Technology Diploma at BCIT in Burnaby and completed my Masters in Mining Engineering with Camborne School of Mines at the University of Exeter in England. My masters degree was a distance education program with some on-campus and field work. 

What I do at work

At Teck Resources Limited, I am part of a project team working on the processing part of a mine. Other members of the team are geologists, mining engineers, project managers and financial analysts. 

As a Senior Metallurgist my job involves both developing specific projects and supporting other people working on projects.  I spend a great deal of time creating laboratory-scale test programs. After we collect data from the test program, we analyze it and prepare a variety of documents including technical reports and PowerPoint presentations. Test programs require math, chemistry and time management skills.  Analyzing data involves using a lot of Excel (math), graphing and interpretation. This is problem solving on how the best way to design and build a mine.

As I am often working on multiple projects, I need to be able to categorize and prioritize my tasks and keep them separate. 

In my position, I need strong communication skills. I have to be able to present technical information in an understandable way to diverse groups.  The groups may include Vice Presidents of my company, engineering firms, laboratories, or elementary school children. 

My company has operations in South America so I am now taking a Spanish course.  This is so that I have a basic understanding and will be able to work more effectively with the South American based operations.

Safety is a core value of our company. As a result, I spend a lot of time looking at how operations can be completed in a safe and environmentally aware manner.

I use a lot of math, chemistry, physics as well as technical writing to do my job. 

My career path is

In high school, I knew I wanted to do something in math or science. My father had always said I could be whatever I wanted and I knew I did not want to be a secretary.

When I was in Grade 12, I had an opportunity to work in an industrial laboratory. The senior chemist recommended a course at BCIT in Chemical and Metallurgical. For me it was a perfect opportunity, as I did not feel I could afford to go to university.  I loved that it was a practical education. After the first year, I focused on Extractive Metallurgy (mineral processing).

As I have always worked in the mining industry, my career has had many ups and downs. It has been challenging at times to be a female in a male dominated industry.  However, through each change and challenge I have enhanced and expanded my skillset to what it is today. My career has been unique and diverse. It has included site work as an employee and contractor, as well as technical resource work for an industry manufacturer. My career has also included mineral processing design work at an engineering house, consultant type work with a reagent distributor, and finally ending as a senior metallurgist.  I have travelled all over the world and visited mines and places that many people will never have an opportunity to visit. I have been accepted in cultures where it is very unusual for a woman to work in my position. I have found this to be very rewarding.

I returned to school and got my Masters in Mining Engineering. I am very proud of that accomplishment and it rounded out my skillset.  As well as Spanish, I am also working to improve my knowledge of mineralogy and geology. Geometallurgy and ore body knowledge are my technical specialty. Women in mining are very important to the future development of our resource sector. It is so important to never stop learning and to accept challenges.

I am motivated by

I get excited at work when I can help solve a problem. I really like collaborating on ideas where we challenge technology to work in a different way. It’s the ‘What if’ game.  When you are in a group of people and bounce ideas off each other sometimes magic occurs.

My superpowers are my math skills and my ability to uncover mistakes in large spreadsheets. I call it a superpower, as I really do not know exactly how I do it. I guess it all boils down to my logical brain.

As a woman in a male dominated industry, I can bring a different perspective to how things are accomplished. My leadership style is to work alongside someone and lead by example rather than dictate how things should be done. I am proud of what I have achieved in my career and that I have become a leader in my field.

How I affect people’s lives

The world needs metals to advance our technology. We use metals every day in our cell phones, computers and homes. We also need to be responsible in how we get that metal. I feel that how I accomplish my job is important in helping this happen in a safe, sustainable and environmentally aware manner. I am proud of the fact that what I do can make a difference to how this is accomplished.

Outside of work I

I enjoy hiking and weight training to stay active. I also incorporate travel into my hiking when I can. I am pretty introverted so I like to read and knit to relax, it helps my brain slow down.

I volunteer with MineralsEd. This is an educational organization in BC which supports Earth science, mineral resources and mining in schools. I am also involved with Mining for Miracles, a program that fundraises for BC Children’s Hospital as well as other mining organizing committees.

My advice to others

Never stop learning! Take chances, do not say no, accept the challenge, then ask for help and guidance. Work to your strengths; you do not need to be pushy to get ahead.

When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Foreign Languages
  • Geography
  • History
  • Literature and English Language Arts
  • Math
  • Science
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Liked helping people
  • Enjoyed working with my hands
  • Was motivated by success
  • Liked being given specific instructions
  • Engaged in volunteer activities
  • Liked reading
  • Felt at home in the outside, natural environment
  • Felt great satisfaction in getting good grades
  • Wasn’t sure what I wanted to do
  • Engaged in activities such as fishing, berry picking and hunting

Partners

Advancing Women in Engineering and Technology

Let's Talk Science would like to thank the Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC (ASTTBC) for connecting us with the individual profiled above.

Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC (ASTTBC) is leading the Advancing Women in Engineering and Technology Project, a Sector Labour Market Partnership project, funded through the Canada-BC Workforce Development Agreement. The project’s goal is to increase the participation of women in the engineering, geoscience, technology and technician occupations through the implementation of diversity and inclusion strategies to recruit, retain and support career development of women to lead a system level cultural shift within these professions.

ASTTBC Technology ProfessionalsFunding provided by the Government of Canada through the Canada-British Columbia Workforce Development Agreement

Explore Career Profiles

  • Isabel Hilgendag in the fileld collecting samples in the Arctic

    Isabel Hilgendag

    MSc Student (Biology)

    I look for heavy metals, such as mercury, in Arctic marine animals, to ensure they are safe to eat.
  • Marty Larabie scuba diving

    Marty Larabie (he/him)

    Radiation Inspector

    I perform radiation safety inspections of persons who use nuclear material.
  • Ryan Mitchell headshot

    Ryan Mitchell

    Hatchery Supervisor

    My job is to supervise the daily workflow at our salmon hatchery.
  • Corie HOuldsworth headshot

    Corie Houldsworth

    Inspector

    I perform inspections of worksites where radiation is used, stored or transported.
  • Terra MacDonald at aquaculture site holding farmed salmon.

    Terra MacDonald (she/her)

    Veterinarian and Fish Health Manager

    As the veterinarian for Mowi Canada West, I care for the salmon at all life stages, from egg to harvest.
  • Isha Berry Headshot

    Isha Berry

    Epidemiologist

    I look for patterns in disease outbreaks and health outcomes in populations across the world.
  • Graham Ballachey headshot

    Graham Ballachey

    Vice President, Engineering

    I manage and oversee all the engineering work for a lithium mine development company.
  • Mike Stanzel headshot

    Mike Stanzel

    Technical Sales Manager

    I’m a sales professional who specializes in selling technical or scientific products.
  • Lynn Henderson with German Sheppard dog

    Lynn Henderson (she/her)

    Veterinarian, Clinician, and College Professor

    I am a small animal veterinarian serving animal health in a variety of capacities.
  • Anastasiia Prysyazhnyuk headshot

    Anastasiia Prysyazhnyuk

    Science and Innovation Lead, Health Beyond Initiative

    I explore ways in which science and technology can provide solutions to healthcare problems in space and on Earth.
  • Cameron Dickenson

    Cameron Dickinson

    Senior Engineer, Space Exploration

    I work on sensors and camera technology for use on planetary exploration missions.
  • Katie Harris essayant une combinaison spatiale de simulation au Centre européen des astronautes.

    Katie Harris (she/her)

    Medical Student/Prospective Aerospace Medicine Specialist

    I am working towards a career as an aerospace medicine specialist - a doctor who works with astronauts and keeps them healthy for long missions!
  • Michelle Henry

    Michelle Henry

    Non-Destructive Testing Technician

    I inspect metal parts on nuclear reactors to make sure they are in good working order.
  • Shari Forbes à l'extérieur du centre de décomposition humaine

    Shari Forbes (she/her/elle)

    Forensic Scientist

    I conduct research to understand how the human body decomposes in our unique Canadian environment.
  • Julie Thrasher au travail dans la salle de commande

    Julie Thrasher

    Shift Manager (Nuclear Power)

    I’m responsible for the safe and effective operation of a four unit nuclear power plant.
  • Andrew Brereton travaillant à l'ordinateur

    Andrew E. Brereton

    Computational Scientist

    I write code that teaches computers how to design new drugs.
  • Karissa Palinka headshot

    Karissa Palinka (she/her)

    Technical Engineer

    Karissa is working to reduce our carbon footprint through the use of Small Modular Reactors.
  • Anaïs Remili tenant un sac de poissons à étudier.

    Anaïs Remili (she/her)

    Whale Researcher

    I am doing research on pollution in killer whales.
  • Stephen Edison

    Stephen Edison

    Energy Transition Advisor

    I use science and engineering to find solutions in support of energy transition and lower carbon. 
  • Edmund Co

    Edmund Co

    Food Scientist

    I use my chemical knowledge to investigate quality complaints and legal issues for the LCBO.