Nimesh Patel

Manager, Engineering Services
Finning Canada
Sector
Location Now
Education Pathway

Nimesh Patel is a Manager of Engineering Services for Finning Canada.


Outside of work I

Outside of my time at work, I spend time with my family, invest in stocks, and read business-related news. I also enjoy exercising, playing billiards and table tennis.

Outside of work I
My career path is

Since my time in school, I have been keen on designing and building different things. I believe this has led to many of my career-related decisions. In university, I majored in machine design and manufacturing as a part of mechanical engineering. Throughout my career, I have participated in leadership seminars, management training, project management, and professional development opportunities.

I started out designing food processing and brewery systems. Eventually I got an opportunity to work on fuel cells, engines and power generators. I found this area to be very interesting. As a result, I continued to expand my knowledge. I learned more about the different types of power generators, including renewable energy sources. I worked with a number of energy and power companies before I came to Finning Canada. In each position, I increased my knowledge and skills as I took on projects that were more complex.

One obstacle I faced in my career arose from being raised and educated outside of Canada. This made it more difficult to demonstrate my ability in the engineering field. I overcame this by learning and taking training courses in Canada. I also worked hard so I would be successful in each one of the challenges that I have faced. I continue on this path even today.

My career path is
My advice to others

A few pieces of advice I would give to those who are interested in pursuing a similar career would be to follow your interests. Make sure you understand the importance of innovation and integrity. It is key to have a positive mindset, learn from failures, and have a balance between your work and personal life.

My advice to others


About me

I was born/grew up in: I was born and raised in the city of Vadodara, Gujarat State, India.

I now live in: I now live in Surrey, B.C.

I completed my training/education at: I studied mechanical engineering at the BV Institute of Technology in India.

About me


I am motivated by

It is exciting to learn about customers’ various power generator needs. I enjoy discussing options and developing solutions to meet their needs. I enjoy finding opportunities for providing alternative power solutions such as Wind and Solar. Problem solving is very important in complex projects.  I am very interested in identifying root causes, troubleshooting issues and learning new things.

As a leader, I like preparing key performance indicators [KPI]. These track and monitor the technical and commercial performance of the business. I enjoy taking a solution from the initial concept to design, and then to development and manufacturing of the generators. This gives me the opportunity to interact with a variety of different industries and technical experts.

My career is personally rewarding because it gives me the chance to make decisions that help customers and industries develop cost effective and energy efficient solutions. As a leader, I can influence the team to set the vision and goals that are rewarding for the company and me personally.

I am motivated by
How I affect people's livesIn my career as an engineering leader, I help develop power generators for customers to meet their specific needs. This helps their business be more successful. Helping create energy efficient solutions to their problems also has a positive effect on the environment.
How I affect people's lives
What I do at work

At Finning Canada, I lead a team who design and manufacture electric power generators. Some of these generators provide backup power for airports and hospitals. Others provide a source of power for remotely located mines where utility power is not available. At work, I review engineering drawings. I make sure these drawings follow the customer’s expectations, as well as the functional and regulatory requirements. A lot of the work I do requires strong analytical skills. It also requires experience in design, manufacturing and technical risk management. In my role as manager, I provide leadership and coaching/mentoring to the team so projects are completed efficiently and accurately.

For some parts of my job, I use equipment and engineering programs to calculate stress strain and heat load. Some programs I use are AutoCAD (for 2D drawings & 3D models) and FEA (Finite Element Analysis). I often make decisions based on my experience. I also consult with experts in the industry and use feedback from other experienced team members. A STEM background allowed me to develop the required skills and knowledge to critically think and make educated decisions about engineering solutions and products.

I also work with customers and suppliers in developing customized solutions that have innovative designs. I work with team members across global regions in order to share knowledge about products and skills. Acquiring and developing talent to meet the needs of our changing technical field and the expectations of our customers is a key part of my workday.

What I do at work
When I was a student, I enjoyed:
  • Math
  • Physical Education / Health
  • Science
  • Business & Economics
When I was a student, I would have described myself as someone who:
  • Enjoyed doing things on my own
  • Played on a sports team
  • Was motivated by success
  • Wanted to be in charge
  • Liked being given free range to explore my ideas
  • Liked reading
  • Was really creative
  • Liked to design or build things
  • Tried to learn from my mistakes
  • Learned best "by doing"

Explore Career Profiles